, , , , ,

I understand that there are three levels of shrines:

Upper/ First Rank : 7 examples

Middle : 7

Lower : 7 (plus 1)


I am going to go through each shrine and try to write a boussokusekika

for each.  5,7,5,7,7,7 syllable pattern.

Here goes:


Ise Jingu

Naiku 04.jpg

(Photo by N yotarou, 2008)



here is your Sacred Mirror;

it reflects the truth:

though damaged by fire, its ash

was used to make it anew.


The goddess Amaterasu emerging from a cave.