Tags

, , , , , ,

(All images are from Hokusai’s series of ‘Poems Explained by a Wet Nurse.’

The woodcuts were taken from Visipix.com’s site.  The poems are my own.

The series was incomplete, so there are not quite 100.  I shall post on ten

sites, to break them up.)

 

(Visipix.com)

 

We store rice- not just

for the Emperor, but for

our families too.

 

(Visipix.com)

 

On Perfume Mountain,

in Spring, we spread our garments.

Do you like the view?

 

(Visipix.com)

 

The wind curls the smoke;

fishermen drag nets upstream.

The plume- pheasant tail?

 

(Visipix.com)

 

When you reach Tago,

only the poet will see

Fuji- San’s splendour.

 

(Visipix.com)

 

Autumn need not be

a reminder of our end:

the stag has a mate.

 

(Visipix.com)

 

We will meet one dusk,

when the magpies form a bridge

for one night only.

 

(Visipix.com)

 

Is this the last time

I’ll see the moon in the lake?

Does she see it too?

 

(Visipix.com)

 

I was Emperor –

once, but now dwell in a hut:

my new role is priest.

 

 

(Visipix.com)

 

My beauty has gone.

Nature’s colours have faded.

Still I write poems.

 

(Visipix.com)

 

When blindness arrived,

I set my sights no further

than Meeting Hill Gate.

