Tags

, , ,

A poem written about twenty years ago.

SEPARATION ANXIETY (Not)

There’s no one else involved; we just need space:

a window in our very hectic week

to find ourselves; to slow down and touch base.

We think we are a very different case

from others in our thirtysomething clique.

There’s no one else invlved: we just need space.

We seldom had a chance to interface

and never went out dancing, cheek to cheek-

to find ourselves; to slow down and touch base.

I looked through pockets, but I found no trace

of odd receipts, nor anything oblique.

There’s no one else involved: we just need space.

There’s little point in trying to save face.

I fancy going somewhere hot and Greek

to find myself; to slow down and touch base.

I’ve moved my stuff.  We each have our own place.

Now we’re apart, we find more time to speak.

There’s no one else involved; we just need space

to find ourselves; to slow down and touch base.

Photo: Norbert Nagel.  Wikimedia Commons.

License CC BY_SA 3.0

